CGTC President Dr. Ivan H. Allen Elected as SACSCOC Vice Chair

Staff Report From Middle Georgia CEO

Thursday, February 20th, 2020

Central Georgia Technical College (CGTC) president, Dr. Ivan H. Allen, was elected by the College Delegate Assembly (CDA) of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) during its Annual Meeting in December 2019 to serve as the vice chair.
SACSCOC serves as the recognized regional accrediting body for those institutions of higher education that award degrees in the 11 southeastern states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia). Its main purpose is the improvement of educational quality throughout the region and assurance to the public that its institutions meet established membership-approved standards.
In his role as vice chair, Dr. Allen is part of a thirteen-member Council that serves as the executive arm of the Board of Trustees with primary responsibility for interpreting Commission policy and procedure.
The Commission on Colleges' Board of Trustees is the representative body of the CDA and is charged with carrying out the accreditation process. Elected Trustees represent over 800 institutions and are responsible for determining SACSCOC policy, reviewing and making decisions regarding the accreditation of institutions, and conducting the initial review for any proposed dues changes or any modifications to SACSCOC standards.
In conjunction to his role as an Executive Council Member, Dr. Allen is also the Chair of State Delegation for the SACSCOC Georgia delegation. Other elected Georgia trustees include Pam Carnes, president and CEO of Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce; Dr. Andrea D. Daniel, president of Athens Technical College; Dr. George T. French, president of Clark Atlanta University; Dr. Thomas J. Hynes, president of Clayton State University; Dr. Kina S. Mallard, president of Reinhardt University; and Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers, president of South Georgia State College.