NewTown Macon Named Quarterfinalist for America’s Main Streets Contest in Celebration of Small Business During COVID-19 Crisis

Staff Report From Middle Georgia CEO

Tuesday, April 28th, 2020

The national small business movement, Independent We Stand, announces the quarterfinalists, including NewTown Macon, in the 2020 “America’s Main Streets” contest. As the lifeblood of our cities and towns, Main Streets play an important role in the long-term success of communities and help build a sense of place. Ensuring the survival and vitality of our Main Streets is important now more than ever before, as many across the country stay home to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Independent We Stand invites the public to take action and play a role in the survival of Main Streets by voting online for their favorite quarterfinalist and moving a deserving Main Street one step closer to the cash grand prize of $25,000.

For the past 24 years, NewTown Macon has been leading the revitalization of downtown Macon. Since 2015, NewTown has leveraged $180M+ in public-private investment, with $84M+ of that investment occurring in 2018 alone. By focusing on increasing residents, creating a sense of place, and growing jobs, NewTown Macon has been instrumental in adding 623 loft units downtown, annually hosting 37 free events that attract 300,000+ visitors, and loaning over $13M to small businesses and real estate developers.

NewTown Macon’s commitment to downtown Macon has not wavered in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. From the early stages of the crisis, NewTown Macon has supported downtown Macon business owners by arming them with information about financial support and unemployment programs. NewTown Macon continues to work closely with downtown businesses to promote downtown Macon and help businesses recover strongly and sustainably. This prize will help NewTown Macon provide much needed financial resources to downtown businesses.

“NewTown Macon is the driving force behind the growth and redevelopment of downtown Macon, creating a vibrantly diverse community people are proud to call home,” said Scott Mitchell, owner of Travis Jean Emporium and chair of NewTown Macon’s Main Street board.

More than 616,000 total votes were cast for 160 entrants during the nominations phase. The 2020 quarterfinalists in alphabetical order are:

Chattahoochee Main Street, Chattahoochee, Fla.                     

Downtown Bedford, Bedford, Pa.

Downtown Canton Georgia, Canton, Ga.

Downtown Jeffersonville, Jeffersonville, Ind.

Emporia Main Street, Inc., Emporia, Kan.

Fernandina Beach Main Street, Fernandina Beach, Fla.

Historic Downtown Hope, Hope, Ark.

Historic Downtown Ripon, Ripon, Wis.

Historic Downtown Snohomish Association, Snohomish, Wash.

Jacksonville Main Street, Jacksonville, Ill.

LaBelle Downtown Revitalization Corporation, LaBelle, Fla.

Larned Main Street, Larned, Kan.

Main Street Altus, Altus, Okla.

Main Street Fort Pierce, Inc., Fort Pierce, Fla.

Main Street Hayward, Hayward, Wis.

Main Street Homer, Homer, La.

Minden, Louisiana, Minden, La.

NewTown Macon, Macon, Ga.

Osborne Main Street, Osborne, Kan.

Pittsfield's Historic Courthouse Square, Pittsfield, Ill.

Public Square, Columbia, Ky.

Quincy Main Street, Quincy, Fla.

Springhill Main Street, Springhill, La.

Sweetwater Main Street, Sweetwater, Tenn.

Sykesville Main Street, Sykesville, Md.

Semifinalist voting begins April 27 at and runs through May 24. Vote for NewTown Macon:

The top 10 semifinalists will be announced May 25. The winner of the 2020 “America’s Main Streets” contest will be announced June 2 followed by a “Main Streets Make Us Better” celebration planned to occur on or near the Fourth of July, when the winner will announce how the prize money will be used.

Additional contest prizes include:

STIHL Equipment Certificate for $1,000 worth of STIHL equipment good at any STIHL Dealer in the U.S.

Do it Best Corp. $500 shopping spree

Free One Day Downtown Assessment from Flip This Town

Nationwide Marketing Group $500 shopping spree

PPG Paints $500 shopping spree

Public relations and social media recognition

A special plaque for the winner to proudly display