Bike Walk Macon Announces 2022 Mobility Maker Award Winners

Staff Report

Monday, June 27th, 2022

Bike Walk Macon hosted its second annual Mobility Maker Awards and Member Party on Thursday, June 23rd at Fall Line Brewing Co. This event celebrates some of Macon’s most dedicated sustainable
transportation advocates accompanied by a presentation showcasing the organization’s accomplishments in creating a more bikeable, walkable, and livable Macon-Bibb County in the past year. Awards are given in the following categories: Partnership Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, Government Department Award, Business Award, Impact Award, and Mobility Champion Award. 

The Partnership Award goes to a group that stood through their partnership with Bike Walk Macon. Big Weight Entertainment received the Partnership Award for their dedicated support of Open Streets Macon in the past two years.

The Volunteer of the Year Award goes to a person or group that stood out through their volunteerism with Bike Walk Macon. Weston Stroud was celebrated as one of Bike Walk Macon’s most dedicated volunteers who also served as the organization’s Board President in 2021.

This Government Department Award goes to a government leader or organization who has made a
tremendous impact in making Macon more walkable, bikeable, and
livable. The Macon Transit Authority was recognized for implementing community-minded
facilities and programs to create a more connected and sustainable


This Business Award goes to the business that has done the most in the past
year to advance biking and walking in Macon-Bibb County.
Atrium Health Navicent was recognized for their monthly Walk With A Doc event that encourages people to walk more while also
learning about their health and meeting new


The Impact Award goes to the most innovative sustainable transportation
project or initiative in the past year. This award was given
to Macon-Bibb County for passing the Complete Streets Policy Ordinance in June 2021. Mayor Lester Miller, Commissioner Elaine
Lucas, and the Pedestrian Safety Review Board were specifically
acknowledged for their role in passing the ordinance and advocating
for the importance of planning, designing, and installing safe
infrastructure for all modes of transportation.


The Mobility Champion Award goes to an individual who has done the most to move the
needle toward creating streets and communities for people, and not
just for cars. This award was given to Bill Causey for his role in designing and transforming many of Macon’s
most iconic public spaces and the Ocmulgee Heritage Trail during
his time at Macon-Bibb County Engineering and in the years
following his retirement.

BIKE WALK MACON is a non-profit organization leading the movement to make
bicycling and walking a safe, healthy, and convenient option for
transportation and recreation for everyone in Macon-Bibb County.
For more information, visit