Flint Energies Foundation Awards Local Law Enforcement $250,000

Staff Report

Friday, May 13th, 2022

Today, Flint Energies Foundation awarded a total of a quarter of a million dollars in grants to 25 local law enforcement departments at an appreciation luncheon held at the Co-op’s Headquarters in Reynolds. The grants, which were $10,000 each, are to assist the departments with their public safety efforts and can be used for training and to purchase protective equipment or other necessary items.

Of the 25 law enforcement agencies that received grants, nine of those were sheriff’s offices:
Crawford County Sheriff’s Office
Houston County Sheriff’s Office
Macon County Sheriff's Office
Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Muscogee County Sheriff's Office
Peach County Sheriff's Office
Schley County Sheriff's Office
Talbot County Sheriff’s Office
Taylor County Sheriff’s Office

Also, 16 police departments received grants:
Buena Vista Police Department
Butler Police Department
Byron Police Department
Centerville Police Department
Columbus Police Department
Ellaville Police Department
Fort Valley Police Department
Ideal Police Department
Marshallville Police Department
Montezuma Police Department
Oglethorpe Police Department
Perry Police Department
Reynolds Police Department
Roberta Police Department
Talbotton Police Department
Warner Robins Police Department

“Flint Energies’ mission is not just to provide electricity, but to improve the quality of life for our Consumer-members and the communities we serve, and that begins with public safety,” says Marian McLemore, Flint’s Vice President of Cooperative Communications.

“We appreciate our local law enforcement agencies and the work that our officers do to keep our communities safe. The Flint Energies Foundation wanted to express our deep appreciation through the grants given today,” says Joanne Hamlin, Flint Foundation Chairman.