Mayor Pro Tem Selected, Committee Structure Approved

Staff Report

Thursday, January 14th, 2021

At a Special Called Meeting, Mayor Lester Miller, five returning Commissioners (Valerie Wynn, Elaine Lucas, Mallory Jones, Virgil Watkins, and Al Tillman), and four new Commissioners (Paul Bronson, Seth Clark, Raymond Wilder, and Bill Howell) met officially for the first time as a body to select the Mayor Pro Tem, hold a Committee on Committees Meeting, and review items that would be introduced at the Committee Meeting on January 12, 2021.

To watch the full meeting, click here.

Commissioner Seth Clark was selected to serve as Mayor Pro Tem for 2021, and he and Mayor Miller asked Commissioner Paul Bronson to serve as the third member on the Committee on Committees, which sets the structure of the Committees for the year.

After discussion on how the Commissioners would like to work together this upcoming year, it was approved there would be only one committee, the Committee of the Whole. That means every Commissioner would have an equal say and voice into every agenda item before it is referred for final approval.