Bibb County School Board Recognized as Exemplary by GSBA

Staff Report From Middle Georgia CEO

Tuesday, June 11th, 2019

The Bibb County Board of Education was recently recognized as a 2019 Exemplary Board by the Georgia School Boards Association. This is the highest level of GSBA recognition for local school boards, with 55 of the state’s 180 boards receiving the honor.

The award marks the first time the Bibb County Board of Education has reached Exemplary status after previously being honored at the Distinguished level. The recognition program is intended to honor boards that display reliable school governance and leadership.

To be recognized as Exemplary, a school board must demonstrate ethics, fiscal responsibility, appropriate levels of board member training and other criteria. The Bibb County Board of Education is currently composed of President Lester Miller, Vice President Dr. Sundra Woodford, Treasurer Dr. Thelma Dillard, Ella Carter, Robert Easter, Dr. Lisa Garrett, Daryl Morton and Susan K. Sipe.