Middle Georgia State Launches University Advisory Council

Middle Georgia State University News

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

Middle Georgia State University will launch a new University Advisory Council, comprised of local, regional, and statewide leaders from the public, private and non-profit sectors.
The primary role of the Council, which will meet for the first time on Wednesday, April 5, is to help advise on the strategic direction of the University and particularly assist the President in his executive leadership.
In carrying out their role, members will promote the mission of the University to the broader regional and statewide community. The Council serves as a liaison between Middle Georgia State and that same broader community. Members serve as a sounding board for the President and provide advice to ensure that the University is meeting the educational needs of the region and state.
“As Middle Georgia State continues to grow into its role as a public university, we want to remain grounded in the reality of the communities we serve and engaged in economic development,” said President Christopher Blake. “We are excited to work with some of Georgia’s leading business executives and public servants to better meet the needs of our students and the state.”
Members of the new University Advisory Council at Middle Georgia State are as follows:
•    Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport Director of International Business Arlene Barr

•    Dublin Mayor Phil Best

•    RAFB Air Logistics Complex Vice Director Britt Covington

•    Georgia Chamber of Commerce Senior Vice President John Cushnie

•    Eastman City Manager Jason Cobb

•    Coliseum Northside Chief Executive Officer Steve Daugherty

•    Lockheed Martin Director of Sustainment at RAFB Sue Dryden

•    Former University System of Georgia Chancellor Henry “Hank” Huckaby

•    Macon-Bibb Schools Superintendent Curtis Jones

•    State Senator John Kennedy

•    General Bob McMahon

•    Museum of Aviation President Chrissy Miner

•    MGA Alumni Board Chair Keith Moffett (honorary member)

•    State Representative Jimmy Pruett

•    Macon-Bibb Mayor Robert Reichert

•    Georgia Public Broadcasting Chief Executive Officer Teya Ryan

•    Georgia Power Vice President Ron Shipman

•    Houston County Schools Superintendent Mark Scott

•    Georgia Council for the Arts Executive Director Karen Paty

•    SITA Americas President Randy Pizzi

•    GEICO Senior Vice President Southeast Region Rhett Rayburn

•    Georgia Veterans Affairs Commissioner Mike Roby

•    Bleckley Schools Superintendent Steve Smith

•    Mercer President Bill Underwood

•    US Bankruptcy Court Judge (Retired) James Walker
The first meeting will focus on acquainting council members with the University’s mission, programs, and existing goals, while engaging them in a discussion of the role Middle Georgia State should play locally, regionally, and statewide.
The council will meet twice per year, once in the fall and once in the spring. Its next meeting will be held in late October.